Ft Lauderdale Hit and Run Attorney
Leaving the scene of an accident attorney
It happens every day in Broward County. Good people are involved in traffic collisions. Panic or confusion sets in. They continue to drive after the accident, and leave the scene. Now they are faced with criminal charges for leaving the scene of an accident. If there were injuries or someone was killed in the crash criminal charges are worse. You may be facing assitional charges of criminal vehicular manslaughter.
Criminal Charges For Leaving the Scene of an Accident
If accused of Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Florida, you need to know that:
Florida Statute 316.061, specifically states that you have "hit and run" if you were involved in an accident or crash with another person's property and you willfully left the scene of the accident or crash without providing your name, address, registration information, and driver's license to the owner of the property.
Hit And Run For A Crash Involving Injury or Death
Florida Statute 316.027, specifically states that if you are involved in an accident that results in injury or death to any person, including a passenger, the person you must: stop immediately, provide your information to the other drivers and give assistance.
Guy Seligamn is An Experienced Criminal Defense Attoreny For Leaving The Scene Of An Accident
Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident
Leaving the Scene of an Accident Involving Property Damage Could Mean
- Sixty (60) days in jail.
- Six (6) months of probation.
- A fine up to $500.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident Involving Injury Could Mean
- Five (5) years in prison.
- Five (5) years of probation.
- A fine up to $5,000.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident Involving Death Could Mean
- Thirty (30) years in prison.
- Thirty (30) years of probation.
- A fine up to $10,000.
You Will Need A Good Defense to Leaving the Scene of The Ft Lauderdale Accident And An Experienced Hit and Run/ Leaving the Scene Lawyer