If your drivers license has been revoked or suspended in Florida , you are supposed to stop driving until the license and driving privileges are restored. If you continue to drive with a license under suspension or revocation you can be arrested for driving with a suspended license.
Your license is considered to be suspended from the time the suspension is imposed, even though the period of suspension may not officially begin until a later date. The suspension remains active until the license is actually restored by the court or agency that imposed the suspension. Guy Seligman your suspended license defense and license restoration lawyer can help.
Driving with a revoked or suspended license in Florida is considered to be a serious offense and the punishment for the crime can be a large fine, mandatory imprisonment, or both.
One interesting defense to the charge of driving with a suspended or revoked license is that the you were not operating the vehicle. The act of operating, or driving, must be proven by the State Attorney.
There are Two Types of Driving with Suspended License Charges
- With Knowledge Criminal Violation
- Without Knowledge Civil Infraction
Reasons for Suspensions Include:
- Failure to pay
- Not paying your traffice tickets
- Not paying your alimony
- Habitual traffic offender
Florida Statute Text F.S. 322.34 discusses this
- First Offense Misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable up to 60 days jail.
- Second Offense Misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable up to 364 days jail.
- Third or Subsequent Felony of the third degree, punishable up to 5 years prison.
- probation or jail,
- Your drivers license can also be suspended longer
Contact the suspended license lawyer, drivers license restoration lawyer Guy Seligman today.