If you are arrested for driving with a suspended license, you will need an experienced Florida criminal lawyer with expertise in suspended licenses. Driving with a suspended or revoked license in Florida has serious criminal consequences.
If you are convicted of driving with a suspended license in Florida, you can have a second degree misdemeanor on your record. You will have a potential 60 day jail sentence, and a $500 fine. If you can prove you never received notification an experienced Florida criminal lawyer with expertise in suspended license defense may be able to help you. Guy Seligman has almost two decades experience in defending suspended licenses in Florida including: Miami, Fort Lauderdale, Boca Raton, West Palm Beach, Orlando, Jacksonville, Ft Myers, Tampa, Ocala, Kissimmee, Port St Lucie, Clearwater, and all of Florida.
Do not automatically plead guilty to driving with a suspended or revoked license in Florida. Contact Guy Seligman your suspended license defense attorney.
Let's take a look at the consequences for driving with a suspended license in Florida
For a First Offender you will be potentially faced with:
- A second degree misdemeanor;
- A maximum 60 day jail sentence; and
- A maximum fine of $500.
If this is your second offense of driving with a suspended license in Florida you may be faced with:
- A first degree misdemeanor;
- A maximum 1 year jail sentence; and
- A maximum fine of $1000.
if it is the third offense of driving with a suspended license in Florida and now you are a habitual offender the result is quite serious:
- You can be charged with a third degree felony;
- and facing a maximum 5 year jail sentence; and
- a maximum fine of $5,000.
What can you do if you are stopped by an officer and you know you have a suspended license ?
- Do not make any statements to the police
- remain silent, if you can contact a lawyer immediately
- anything you say or do may be used as evidence against you.
What Guy Seligman your license defense lawyer will attempt to do.
If I can convince a judge that you weren’t aware of your suspension, then under Florida law, the court must reduce the charge to a non-criminal violation. I can attempt to show that you never received the proper notification of your driver’s license suspension.
If you changed your address after your Florida driver’s license was suspended, it is possible that you never received a suspension letter in the mail. This can easily be established, and this simple defense may prevent you from having a permanent criminal record. There are other possiblities as well. Contact my suspended license criminal team to discuss your rights and potential ways to fight the charges against you.
reinstating a suspended license,
reinstate suspended license,
suspended license reinstatement,
how to reinstate a suspended license,
how to reinstate a suspended license in florida,
reinstate suspended license Fort Lauderdale,
florida suspended license reinstatement,