Florida Medical Marijuana Laws | Fort Lauderdale Marijuana Laws

Medical marijauna has passed in Florida. With the passage will the arrests for small possession lighten up? California started with passing medical and has now moved to total legalization. You still need to act with caution in Fort Lauderdale and Broward County but, the laws have lightened up ( see below ) Local cities have passed some of their own laws regarding possession of Marijuana but, state law has remained unchanged, leaving those caught in possession at risk of arrest and jail. Under Florida state law, marijuana possession is a misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and a $1,000 fine. In June 2015, Miami-Dade County commissioners, by a 10-3 vote, passed an ordinance that gives police the option not to arrest those caught with less than 20 grams of marijuana. Instead, an officer might write a civil citation resulting in a $100 fine. The ordinance went into effect July 10, making Miami-Dade the first county to explore decriminalization. In July 2015, Miami Beach unanimously passed a similar ordinance, also applying to less than 20 grams of marijuana and also resulting in a discretionary $100 civil fine. Then, in early August, Broward County’s Hallandale Beach followed suit: Effective September 19, 2015, possession of 20 grams or less can result in only a $100 fine. Later in August, Key West commissioners voted unanimously to give police the option of issuing $100 civil fines in lieu of making arrests for 20 grams or less of marijuana. West Palm Beach joined the trend in September 2015 when it approved a measure that gives police the option of $100 fines instead of...